3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Converting Questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2003, 09:26 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Converting Questions

Im a newbie at everything with Maxima as im a German Auto guy as i am into BMW's more then anything right now but my mother has a 1990 GXE and yeah its a peice of **** right now but i honestly think it has some potential since all it needs is a lil money (lol) and TLC and she will be back to new again.

Anyway my question is that Did any maximas come with a manual transmissions wich i am assuming they did but then that brings me to ask how hard is it to swap in a manual tranny, what is involved, how much would this cost all that good information oh and also were is the best place to pick one up.

For the 80's 3 seires BMW doing an Auto to Manual is possible and not hard to do if you are willing to take the time to do the labor so i would guess this can be done with japenese autos also such as the Maxima.

Also is there a way to convert to an Analog dash/speedometer instead of a Digital this digtal dash has NEVER worked and has been replaced before and then worked for a 2 weeks then quit, Is there a way to fix it and if not how hard is it to convert to analog, again any and every information about this will be helpful.

Thanks in advance.

Ryan
Old 12-20-2003, 09:32 PM

its actually real simple, all you have to do is find a donor car. a 89-91 se will have the VG, which will be the same tranny. all there is to do, is pretty much swap the linkage, swap the tranny, add a clutch pedal, swap the flywheel, and as far as i know thats it, but its prolly best to find a donor car, all the parts are transferrreable. not sure about the dash, i have an atc, but not any other parts.
Old 12-20-2003, 09:45 PM
Im izz sexay

O/T
Since you are german are you considering the E36's headlight swap. Possibly some Angel Eyes Hellas HID will do you some real good too?
Old 12-20-2003, 09:56 PM