3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Leaky heater under dash

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2001, 03:27 AM

Hiya all, I have a little prob, well actually kinda major, but anyways... 1 morning i noticed a little puddle of green water on pass side frnt mat, and engine with bad miss and a flickering check engine light. Further inspection reveals bubbles in rad. Problem? must be a leaky heater core. Temparary solution - disconnect heater hoses from firewall in engine bay and run together. (hey im a student, no money right? :-)) Anyway, thats all fine and good until I want to use the heater, as winter is fast approaching in my litlle corner of the world. I spent 2 hrs on the weekend pulling my dash apart to try and find the heater core itself, the actual heat exchange unit, and all that that little exercise got me was 2 cuts on my hands and no joy.
Has anyone else come across this problem, or failing that, has anybody located the damn thing whilst looking for something else under the dash? I have areally bad feeling that i have to remove the whole dashboard entirely, as i have removed passenger kickpanel, glovebox, radio, climate controller, center console facade, handbrake and gearlever surrounds. And I still only have a vague idea of which little black box its in... Dont want to risk pulling a/c unit apart by m,istake and depressurising it.
My poor little max looks like someone threw a grenade in it, im freezin my *** off, and the local Nissan dealer scratched their heads and said "We've NEVER had one of those before, we'll have to pull it all apart and see how to fix it... Leave us ur VISA card and we'll get back to u...."
Little help, please?
Or another thought just occured to me... does anyone know if the exchange unti is metal or plastic pipes? If its metal, i could try some of that stop-leak stuff that u put in ur rads for holes....
Old 04-09-2001, 06:57 AM

Stop Leak: