3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Painting tips by awsm66.

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2004, 09:59 PM
I'm needing a caw

Painting tips by awsm66.

http://forums.maxima.org/oldthread.php?t=343335 (questions? Ask in in the linked thread) Thanks Mike for the info.
I say "some" because there is much more to painting than most people think. This is just a little info.

Also a disclaimer: I am not a professional painter nor do I claim to be. This info is stuff that I have picked up from my countless research on the net and from friends that are pros. Its just basic info and if you are serious about painting your car or doing body work then I encourage you to do a lot of research.

First some terminology:

HVLP (High Volume Low Pressure)- These are paint guns that use low pressure at the tip of the gun (10 psi). This allows you to transfer more material with less waste because it doesnt "bounce" off of the panel. You set the HVLP guns at their specific inlet pressure (varies from gun to gun but is usually stamped on the gun itself) to get the 10 psi at the cap rating. The down sides to the HVLP guns are that they use a greater amount of air so you generally need a bigger compressor and they may not atomize as well as a conventional gun.

HVLP guns come in gravity feed (cup above gun) models as well as pressure and siphon (cup under gun) type models.

For those with small air compressors---