3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Wanted Advice...

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2004, 08:57 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Wanted Advice...

[COLOR=Blue]

Hi !!

I am an international student and very new to the US of A. I am about to get a hand me down 1991 V6 SOHC 160 hp Maxima SE (automatic) with 135,000 miles on it, I am a new driver and this is my very first car. I understand that the Maxima is an excellent car.I need some advice on two things...One is that the heater takes almost 10 mins to heat after being turned on and the second is that the clock and radio have a life of their own and turn on and off on their own, I also wanted to know if I need to get anything else checked with regards to the engine..any geniune advice is appreciated.
Could you please tell me if I need to check on anything else before I get the car.

Thank you.
Old 12-15-2004, 09:35 AM
mod or sell?

be glad it's only taking 10 minutes for the car to warm up.
it's friggin cold outside!
you probably need to resolder the clock and the radio, they have bad solder jointts.
Old 12-15-2004, 09:41 AM

There should be a sticker on the underside of the hood that tells you when the timing belt was last changed. If it's been over 60,000 miles you are due for a new one. If the timing belt breaks the engine is junk.
Old 12-15-2004, 09:44 AM
mod or sell?

:doh: i forget about the timing belt on those frail VGs.
Old 12-15-2004, 09:53 AM

What did you say? Sorry, I cant hear it over your VTC clacking!!

Anyways Reddy, you bought a good car. Other than the timing belt (which is just a maintence thing), the automatic trannys on these cars like to stop working. As long as it shifts fine, dont worry about it though.
Old 12-15-2004, 10:24 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Originally Posted by 4dscPat
What did you say? Sorry, I cant hear it over your VTC clacking!!