3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

intermitant dying.. any ideas?

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2005, 08:13 PM
Donating Maxima.org Member

intermitant dying.. any ideas?

Hello everyone

I am new to maxima's but not to cars, I have read through many threads looking for a fix to this issue but can't seem to find the same issue, some slightly similar but not quite the same.

the car is a 92SE w/ 5speed
my VTC's are grounded (i double checked and the ground is good)

the issue is that while driving under different conditions the engine will just stop. If I push in the clutch and crank it, the engine starts and runs like nothing is wrong. This scenario has happened about four times in the past two weeks at take off and while cruising noramlly under different levels of acceleration. I cannot recreate the condition at will or while revving at rest.
I did find that #6 injector was bad I replaced it which gave better performance but did not solve the problem. plugs are new, fuel pressure checks out ok. I have seen people having problems with coil packs I have looked for cracks but I have not multimetered them yet. Besides wouldn't having individual coil packs prevent one bad coil pack from bringing the entire engine to its knees? well I need some help here I cannot seem to figure this out.

Old 03-07-2005, 09:06 PM

Well, it sounds kinda similar to a problem I used to have on my max (although it is a 90 GXE). I came to find out that the cam position sensor was bad. Unfortunately for me having the VG, I had to buy a whole distributor which rang my wallet out dry for a while. But you having a VE might make what I just said totally irrelevant. Just though that i could maybe point you in the right direction, I don't know. Good Luck
Old 03-07-2005, 11:48 PM

Originally Posted by freefall_max
Hello everyone