3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

dash paint?

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2005, 01:25 AM

dash paint?

I'm thinking as a quick project I would like to paint the those plastic borders (sorry I can't remember what they are called) on all the stuff on my dash. You know, there's one that surrounds the stereo system and the ac controls, and so on. Anyway, I was wondering if you guys have any suggestions on paints. Would any spray paint work? Or should I go for a certain type of paint?
Old 06-12-2005, 08:03 AM

im not an expert on this, but i do believe that you will have to sand down the pieces before you paint. After you do that, im sure spray paint will work.( take it out of the car first though )
Old 06-12-2005, 09:23 AM

actually you have 2 ways to do this. 1, you can get a primer spray paint, and regular. (i'd also recommend some clear coat)

And that will come out pretty decent looking. Plus you don't worry about chipping as much. I've done a lot of interior projects like that.

if you sand it... make sure to use a fine paper grit. I use 3000 grit myself. it's an extremely fine paper. but you don't need to take that much off. This just allows the paint to stick better. But using a good primer can elimante this.

btw... it's called console trim pieces. or dash trim. Depends upon who you ask.
Old 06-12-2005, 10:10 AM

When I did mine I sanded it at 150, glazed it, 150 sand, 220 sand, high build primer, sand with 400 and then painted with a spray can. Can out real hot for a few weeks, still in great shape. Xcept for the fact I just hacked it all up for another project. Secret.
Old 06-12-2005, 10:29 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Originally Posted by michaels'max