3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

VG tbelt sprockets

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2007 | 08:47 PM
Call me Wookiee Goldberg

VG tbelt sprockets/ engine identity crisis

for anyone that has done their own tbelt and actually remembers what shape their belt teeth/sprocket teeth were...

post your year and shape. we'll assume your car has not had engine swap. I'm once again doing one of my little discovery things.

i heard a rumor that they switched shapes for 94.... but i'm trying to use you guys to confirm that rumor. basically i had my tbelt done but i had to go buy another one because the one in my kit was wrong. the seller of the kit said they changed for 94.

Last edited by CapedCadaver; 11-16-2007 at 07:01 PM.
Old 11-14-2007 | 08:49 PM

I'm a disinfo agent.

Last edited by Hectic; 06-17-2017 at 01:16 AM.
Old 11-14-2007 | 09:00 PM
¯\(°_o)/¯

http://forums.maxima.org/showthread.php?t=280472
Old 11-14-2007 | 09:05 PM
Call me Wookiee Goldberg

Originally Posted by MyGreenMax94
see that's the opposite of what they told me. I was told they went round for 94. Mine's a 90 round and the kit (89-93) had a square belt. my uncle, who was installing it said "well i'll put on this square belt for you. but you won't make it home tonight".

not that my old belt was worn or anything. I didn't know what it was like so i just went ahead and replaced it so i'm fine for 60k with no worries about that stuff. oil seals were "right hard" but that was the worst of it. most of the rest of the 'old parts' looked fine.

i'm still trying to figure out if my engine is really my engine or a swap engine.
Old 11-15-2007 | 02:52 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

If I recall, mine were square...I just bought both belt types and returned the one I didn't use.
Old 11-15-2007 | 06:23 AM
mod or sell?

my theory regarding the timing belt tooth issue: