3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

factory freak idle..??

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2011, 06:39 PM

factory freak idle..??

Hey how's it going guys I'm pretty new to the org this is my first thread so bare with me if its a lil unorganized I appreciate the patience and aid in advance..

So..here's what I've done..cleaned throttle body replaced gasket too,clean iacv and replaced gasket too,changed valve cover gasket,seafoamed my car,have always done regular oil changes and maintenance(filters,pumps..etc).

Now here's the problem my cars always had a nasty idle but at one point a few months ago after doing all this(tb,iacv,vcg,seafoam..etc..) my cars idle seemed pretty fine for the most part but now its back to crappyness again..when I pull up to stop signs/red lights nd throw it in neutral while coming to a stop my idle drops to 500 even 400 sometimes then goes fluxuates between 5-750 rpm. While standing still it sometimes does the same thing jus fluxuates rpms nd I get a nasty vibration while its idleing.

My question now..from my knowledge and what I've read from the org I've came to a few conclusions first off I read it cld be my ecu coolant temp sensor or a throttle position sensor mayb one or both went bad..second I was thinking maybe there's a vacuum leak somewhere was thinking of maybe doing a smoke test? Lastly the most common of problems could it just be my rusted exhuast manifold studs? My cars got 180k on the highway it runs like a charm but I'm thinking the rust finally caught up...btw it doesn't feel like I'm at a loss of power when I put it to the metal I feel like its pretty much all there so idk what else to conclude but I'm in possession of a factory freak lol

P.s I'm kind of a newb so I would RLY appreciate it if you guys could be a little bit more detailed in your responses again thanks again in advance your advice and opinions are welcome!
Old 01-06-2011, 06:43 PM