3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Jacobson power coil????? what can you tell me about them?

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2012, 05:02 PM

Jacobson power coil????? what can you tell me about them?

So when I bought my most recent 92 GXE, this was installed. It drove home but I was only running on four injectors so I know it works but I took it out to do a factory tune up. I feel why try to better an already good design. Am I wrong? What advantages do I get with this? Has anybody ran this? Should I keep it? What is it worth? Does anybody have a better need for this in their car? I only ask because I have no experience with it. LMK.

IMAG0947 by dadswieser, on Flickr
Old 03-11-2012, 05:41 PM

This system is a good ignition system it could balance out the engine by sensing those cylinder requiring extra charge compared to those reqiring less charge! I would keep it! or trade it for a MSD/Mallory/Petronix ignition system! It's name is Jacobs Electronics that Mileage Master eliminated all bogs and hesitations...

http://www.jacobselectronics.com.au/

Last edited by CMax03; 03-11-2012 at 05:43 PM.
Old 03-13-2012, 09:58 PM
Get Off My Lawn

I've had several JE devices. Certain components like their coils are nice and work well. But overall their ignition systems as a whole are garbage. IIRC, this was the cheaper version of their I.C.E. Pack system.

The system you have makes use of the stock coil, firing along a 3-4 foot 8mm plug wire, to a secondary trigger. That trigger signals the Jacobs "mileage master" to make a judgement about fire and then signals the Jacob coil to fire. Then we go back to the stock distributor to fire the plug.