3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Multiple Problems.. Help Appreciated

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2013, 01:34 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Multiple Problems.. Help Appreciated

Hey everyone, I have a few problems that ive been having with my vehicle lately, and would really appreciate your guys expertise, as I'm no mechanic and would like to have these thimgs resolved ASAP.
First of all, a few weeks ago on my way to work, I noticed smoke/steam coming out out my hood, from the passenger side, and my car was overheating, I was driving on the freeway so I got off and stopped at a gas station to see what's going on.
The coolant reservoir was boiling, but just about empty, so I let the car sit for a few minutes, amd I filled it up with water and the radiator as well. This solved my problem, or so I thougt. anyways, a few weeks later, the same thing happened to my mom while she was driving my car to work. So I took a look at the coolant levels and they were low, if not empty, once again.
I haven't noticed any leaks under the car, so I'm not positive there is a leak, and if there is, I have no idea where its leaking from. Any ideas?

Also, after I filled up the radiator and did the oil change today, I heard a bubbling sound coming from somewhere near the dashboard, closer to the passenger side as i accelerated. I didnt hear it anymore, after the engine warmed up. What could it be? Is this related to my low coolant levels, and what must I do to fix it?

Last thing, I also noticed my car idles a little low in park (not sure if it also does while stopped in drive) around 700 rpm. Is this a serious problem? The exhaust pipe seems to make a sputtering noise, not too severe, just a bit, so i dont know if its normal or not, or if its even related to tje low idli g.
Thanks in advance for your respones, hope to hear from someone soon so i can deal with these issues.
Old 04-10-2013, 06:10 AM
Jesus was a Zombie.