3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Front door hinge replacement

Old 01-24-2016, 01:38 PM

Front door hinge replacement

Just completed the driver door hinge replacement to cure a saggy door and wind noise. Not a bad job, took about 2 hours after painting the hinges and getting set up, but I'm a slow mechanic.
Here's the sequence: Remove front wheel, remove all top fender screws, wheel well splash shield screws, pop out the corner marker lamp to remove the 4 internal front fender screws and then the 2 screws near the door hinges. You don't have to remove the front bumper!! Pull the fender up and over the engine compartment flange so the fender flops out to expose the hinges. See photo.Clean out all the dirt that's trapped behind the fender.
Remove and replace the new hinges one at a time while the door is completely closed. When you've tightened down all bolts, open the door. It will probably sag, so put a floor jack under the door while it is just barely open and push it up so it's slightly (1/8" or so) higher than the body line because the door might drop a little when you tighten everything down. Then tighten the bolts down TIGHT! I used thread locker on the bolts. Note: the longer bolts go into the door. You might have to do this a few times until the door closes perfectly flush w/ the car body. Note: the old hinges have a welded washer on one
hole presumably to prevent the hinge from slipping. The new hinges do not have the washers so make sure you're good and tight- just don't strip 'em.
Also, to ensure the door closes good and tight, replace the door striker w/ a new one or swap it out w/ the back door. The black rubber coating gets torn up over time and allows the door to close a little looser than it should, so don't forget this part. That will ensure a good OEM tight fit.

Old 01-24-2016, 04:10 PM
2 VE's are better than one!

Nice job. Your paint looks to be in nice shape, any other pics of your car?