3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Brake problem- no preseure

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2002, 11:30 PM

Brake problem- no preseure

Ok im no expert on brakes so im not sure what is wrong. I have put new metalmaster pads all around except driver side rear cause the bracket is rusted in one position, so that stays like that till i get another. I bleed the brakes and got all the air out with my dad. But i have no pressure in the pedal. Ill press it down and nothing really happens i have to pump it 2 or 3 times to get a normal response. Also the front pass side smells alittle and both front brakes get real hot after i drive. Anyone no whats wrong or somthin i didnt do right???
Old 04-22-2002, 11:36 PM

are you sure you didn't get any contamination into the brake system when you were flushing it. even a little bit of moisture can make your brakes turn to mush. other then that, the other common problem would be a low fluid level or incorrect fluid, but that's a pretty novice error that I doubt you made.
Old 04-22-2002, 11:49 PM

Yea fluid is fine, i searched and found that maybe the caliphers are hung up and need to be greased and all that, which would produce the heat im finding. Not sure if that effects pressure though, maybe. Whats involed in cleaning up the caliphers?
Old 04-23-2002, 05:31 PM

I went through and clean everything made sure connections were tight, and things are moving properly, then bleed the system again. Still have to pump a few times to get pressure. Anyone want to take a stab at it???
Old 04-23-2002, 10:31 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Originally posted by Booner8269
I went through and clean everything made sure connections were tight, and things are moving properly, then bleed the system again. Still have to pump a few times to get pressure. Anyone want to take a stab at it???