3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Tranny slipping out of overdrive on 92 se auto

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2002, 05:38 AM
nsdrtrdr

Tranny slipping out of overdrive on 92 se auto

I have a 92 SE auto with 150K on it, and have noticed in the last year that it will occassionally slip out of overdrive for 2-3 seconds, then re-engage. The problem has gotten much worse lately, and I'm wondering if the problem is a vacuum leak, an ignition problem (distributor cap, spark plug wires, etc.) or my transmission actually failing. I've scoured this forum (yes, I'm a newbie) thoroughly and have found several references to this type of problem.
(http://forums.maxima.org/showthread.php?threadid=69356)
(http://forums.maxima.org/showthread.php?threadid=65949)

I have also found a number of references to trannys going bad and the cost to replace (anywhere from $1200 to $2500). Does anyone have more definitive information on this problem? Anyone else with the same problem and ideas for a solution? My reason for asking is the fact that a 92 SE with $150K is likely only worth $3000, so spending $2000 on another transmission seems excessive. I'd rather sell the car and get a newer one. I appreciate any help you can provide.

Old 04-27-2002, 08:30 PM

Well if it is falling out of overdrive, there is a solenoid in the tranny that engages overdrive. I beleive it can be replaced. But, have you replaced your tranny fluid? if not do a couple drain and fills and then see how it runs.
Old 04-28-2002, 06:04 PM
nsdrtrdr

Originally posted by eric93SE
Well if it is falling out of overdrive, there is a solenoid in the tranny that engages overdrive. I beleive it can be replaced. But, have you replaced your tranny fluid? if not do a couple drain and fills and then see how it runs.