4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

5speed tranny leak

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2002, 07:02 PM

5speed tranny leak

my tranny is leaking from an opening at the bottom of the tranny.
there is a hole on the bottom of the tranny ( it must be a factory opening because its on my 99 max also ) . near this hole on the bottom of the tranny there is a plastic cover with two bolts holding the cover in place. it appears like you can see the clutch components. if oil is getting into the clutch housing is it the input seal? haven't seen posts on this. what is the cause of the leak and what is the best remedy. i've never worked on a tranny but i am a decent weekend mechanic
Old 08-16-2002, 07:21 AM

Re: 5speed tranny leak

Originally posted by xraytedrick
my tranny is leaking from an opening at the bottom of the tranny.
there is a hole on the bottom of the tranny ( it must be a factory opening because its on my 99 max also ) . near this hole on the bottom of the tranny there is a plastic cover with two bolts holding the cover in place. it appears like you can see the clutch components. if oil is getting into the clutch housing is it the input seal? haven't seen posts on this. what is the cause of the leak and what is the best remedy. i've never worked on a tranny but i am a decent weekend mechanic
If you're standing in front of the car looking down, is it the black plastic plug that is towards the driver's side wheel? If so, that's the back-up lamp/neutral position switch. The seal is very easy to replace and is common source of leaks on the 5 speed.
Old 08-16-2002, 09:01 AM

the plastic panel is on the passenger side of the car. there are no electrical connections or switches at the leak site. it seems like the oil is in the clutch bell housing where i believe it should be dry. do you think its the input shaft seal??
how much work would it be if it is?