4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Detailing / Scratch Removal / Paint Cleaning Info

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2002, 03:56 PM
An atavistic endeavor...

Detailing / Scratch Removal / Paint Cleaning Info

I've seen a lot of people asking about scratch removal lately, so I figured I would repost this and add some new info. I'm not an expert, but this is the info I've been able to synthesize from a lot of research from a lot of different sources and pain old trial and error. Tons of this info is from Car Care Online (link below) so check out that site if you want to get it straight from the horse's mouth. One important thing to remember is that the goal of detailing is to deal with problems using the least aggressive means possible. For example, if you have a minor scratch, it's better to hit it with a few rounds of light polish by hand, than one round of heavy polish applied with a machine.

Anyway, I'm sure other people have different techniques and stuff (post them!...I'm always trying to learn) but I figured that maybe some of this info could help people out.

Cleaning / Scratch Removal

Here are the steps more or less in order. Some of the stuff (Chemical Cleaner, Polish, and Glaze) could go in a different order...I'm still experimenting with this.

Wash - Cleans basic dirt off the paint. You want to use real car wash (not dish detergent...that will strip off wax), and don't use much of it. Especially after you have polished/waxed your car you should use just a little tiny bit of wash...there is no need to get super-sudsy water.

Chemical cleaner such as Zymol HD Cleanse - Not a lot of people use products like this, but after seeing what it did to the color on my Forest Green Max, I use it about once a year. It cleans oxidation and contaminates off your paint VERY WELL.