4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

learning manual

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2003, 09:48 AM

learning manual

I am hoping to buy a 5 speed max in july. I have no experice, how long did it take you to learn to drive manual? Should I take a course to drive manual before a I buy the car or is it a waste?
Old 04-18-2003, 10:41 AM
living out of a maxima...

Re: learning manual

Originally posted by sk24iam
I am hoping to buy a 5 speed max in july. I have no experice, how long did it take you to learn to drive manual? Should I take a course to drive manual before a I buy the car or is it a waste?
This max was my first manual car. It only took a few days before I could drive it reliably without stalling and or getting whiplash, but even after driving stick for almost a year I am still learning new things every day.

I'd suggest you find someone with a 5spd beater and buy them lunch if they let you drive it around a little. It's real easy to learn the basics of driving stick, but it takes some time to learn all the subtleties of smooth clutch engagement, smooth shifting, and especially downshifting. I read a real helpful article that someone posted here a while ago, I'll try and dig it up.
Old 04-18-2003, 10:45 AM

Same here, i will be buying a 5 speed max this summer and cant drive stick very well either. I have had a little bit of practice on my uncle's BMW. So if i had to i could drive one, but i am still a little jerky with starts. But i dont know how i am going to test drive the car? I dont want to make a fool out of myself by f in up the guys clutch. I guess i really need to get more practice so i can test drive the cars i look at...
Old 04-18-2003, 10:47 AM

my brother drove my car on the test drive
Old 04-18-2003, 10:55 AM
Donating Maxima.org Member

Originally posted by Smithdogg1