4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Differential Bearing .... please read

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2003, 05:48 PM
§è~® f®ÈÄk

Differential Bearing .... please read

I know that this problem is starting to get common... i took my car to my mechanic today to have him check it out... he says theres nothing major wrong with the trans, i dont need to get it fixed, what will happen if i dont get the diff bearing fixed?( i'm still not sure that that is the problem, the whining i get is when i am at a stop, and it doesnt happen constantly) also is 1st gear whine while accelerating normal or not???? no one seems to have a definitive answer on this... i have searched so please dont tell me to search, thanks in advance
Old 05-06-2003, 06:24 PM
Donating Maxima.org Member

I am not a transmission expert, but have gone through 4 transmission total so I have quite a bit of experience. I had my transmission rebuilt because of gear whine. If you are sure it's coming from the transmission, it is not normal and means the bearings are getting worn out. I suggest replacing all of them. I have all of the bearings you need with only 10,000 miles on them and in perfect condition. They seriously look brand new. I will sell them to you for $100 if you are interested. I posted them a while back in the for sale forum, but never got a response. Pm me.
Old 05-06-2003, 06:49 PM
§è~® f®ÈÄk

Originally posted by MAXINXS