4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Blown Engine/Engine Replacement

Old 05-31-2003, 07:05 PM
ejj
Donating Maxima.org Member

Blown Engine/Engine Replacement

In case you missed, I've blown my engine.

I could just replace the right side head (I think), but they seem to go for $150-$250. For <$500 I can get an entire engine. Mine has fairly high mileage (85k), and has never had wonderful compression (170's).

So, I'm going to replace the motor. Any advice? I will be doing this myself, with the help of at least 1 other person. I've never done anything quite like this before, but how hard can it be.

When I get the new motor what do you guys think would be good preventive maintenance procedures to perform while its out of the car? I was thinking of replacing maybe the water pump and knock sensor, just because they're such a PITA when the engine is in the car.
Old 05-31-2003, 11:00 PM
rmb

Re: Blown Engine/Engine Replacement

Originally posted by ejj
In case you missed, I've blown my engine.

When I get the new motor what do you guys think would be good preventive maintenance procedures to perform while its out of the car? I was thinking of replacing maybe the water pump and knock sensor, just because they're such a PITA when the engine is in the car.
Clutch bits... disc... pressure plate.... t-bearing, slave cyl... etc....

All new sparks, hoses, filters, pcv valve, etc...

I dropped two small steel machine screws down the carb of a full-throttle running 1978 Dodge slant-six motor once. I was 16 with less than $300 to my name.... What a sickening/bad feeling.... Found them all in the muffer, some smashed. No harm done.... 'Course it caught fire and burned to the ground a couple years later...

-RMB
Old 06-01-2003, 08:16 AM
ejj

Re: Re: Blown Engine/Engine Replacement

Originally posted by rmb