4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Fogs Half Out

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2001, 03:51 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

I bought a fog light kit for my 97 GLE from Courtesy and installed it. Only the passenger side light works. I called Courtesy thinking it was a bad bulb and they told me to swap them around. I did and only the passenger side worked again. That means there is a problem with the wiring. Any suggestions on what could be wrong? I am taking the car to the dealer a week from tomorrow and will try and get it fixed but I would like to do it myself if I could.
Old 05-23-2001, 06:00 PM

do you have a multi-tester/dmm/digital multier meter?

you'll need to be able to trace the wires and check to see where the voltage loss is...

-V
Old 05-23-2001, 06:13 PM

I have one of those but i am not really an expert in using it. I am sure I could figure it out though. Where would you suggest testing the wires? I tried following them last night and they just go into this big wire harness with 100 wires in it.
Old 05-24-2001, 01:22 AM

I'd turn on the fog lights and check the test the wires going into the side that doesn't work. See if it registers voltage. If it does, then it's someone on the fog light assembly end. If it doesn't, I'd test to see if I'm getting at least positive from to the light. Take the positive lead on the DMM and touch the contact in the fog end of the harness that's supposed to be positive while holding the negative cable from the DMM to any known good ground point on the car (i.e. almost any non-painted metal surface on the car). If the needle jumps/the DMM shows 12v, then it's a bad ground. Test the ground side by putting the multimeter into resistance/ohm mode and check to see if the connector is getting connectivity to any ground of the vehicle. If no, then trace the ground wire to see where it grounds to.

-V