4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

suspension upgrade pros and cons

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2006, 02:05 PM
scoobystoned...

suspension upgrade pros and cons

im prolly gonna buy some KYB Gr-2's/s-techs from another org member. i know this will lower my car and make it look sweet, but i was just wondering, what are the cons and pros of suspension upgrades besides the obivious ones (ride, scraping)??? will a dropped car be more unsettled on the highway? im a noob and dunno any of this. will it in some weird way make the car get worse MPG? sorry retarded questions, i know, but fill me in. thanks.
Old 04-09-2006, 02:40 PM

It may make your ride a little bit bumpy.
Old 04-09-2006, 04:56 PM

A dropped car will actually be more stable on the highway, and in general. You will also be running a bit more negative camber naturally, so you'll want to get some camber bolts and an alignment or your front tires will show camber wear (insides wear faster than outsides). I have yet to do this with a ~1.7" drop on Progress springs, I just had the alignment checked and I had ~-1.5 to -2 degrees up front. They will charge me to change the alignment however, so I'll do that when I get camber bolts. I'll probably have a few pics of the car in another hour or so. Negative camber will give your car a bit more bite in the corners, but you will have a little less grip under acceleration. Braking isn't affected too much since the front tires get mushed against the ground when you hit the middle pedal hard.
Old 04-09-2006, 05:06 PM