4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Help me not spend 1K on brakes please!

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2006, 06:28 PM
Back from Hibernation

Help me not spend 1K on brakes please!

Hey 4th Gen folks. I typically only hang in the Audio and Electronics section but here I am w/ an issue hoping you can help.

OK, I'm no mechanic so please take it easy on me.

A year or so back I had a brake problem. One place thought I needed rear caliper replacements along with new rotors and prolly pads too. The quote was 1k for the whole job. The next place I went to for another estimate found something around the caliper causeing the problem, but said that if it was that, it would have indeed been 1k. Well now that rear caliper IS bad, and i think i'm due a full brake job. I think the fronts may need rotors/pads too. $1,000 smackeroo's just doesn't sound good here.

I'm no mechanic, but I can get my car up on stands and take off tires and follow instructions. Is this a doable job for a non-mechanic? Are there step by step instructions for this that I could follow (no mechanic, but no idiot either...I install my own elaborate stereo's). Are there websites to get replacement parts cheaper than local shops will sell this stuff for.

Help me not get mugged on this deal please!
Old 05-28-2006, 06:41 PM

i'm not that much of a help, but i kno that the parts for the rear "loaded" caliper [that includes brake pads] and a rotor is roughly $300 each side..but my uncle got one side for me for about $200. i kno this cuz i had to replace my rear passenger side a few days ago lol dunno how much for the fronts tho. PM me and i'll ask my uncle if he can get those prices for you..no promises tho, but will try if you need.
Old 05-28-2006, 06:44 PM
Sold

check the motorvate web site... http://www.motorvate.ca/mvp.php/300
for the front brakes...