4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Bad fuel injectors

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2007, 07:42 PM

Bad fuel injectors

My 4th gen has bad injectors in cylinders 3 and 5. The dealership wants 1360 to replace all of them, and I'm very hesitant considering the value of the car is only around 4k. And I'm an impoverished college student with barely enough money for food. There isn't any hope some sort of fuel injector cleaner could get them spraying normally again, right? Does ethanol based gas have anything to do with gumming them up? Is this the normal cost to get a couple injectors replaced?
Old 03-16-2007, 07:52 PM

what a ripoff, you can find the parts for cheap and any decent mech can do it for 2X less $$$
Old 03-17-2007, 12:55 AM

Originally Posted by Eric425
My 4th gen has bad injectors in cylinders 3 and 5. The dealership wants 1360 to replace all of them, and I'm very hesitant considering the value of the car is only around 4k. And I'm an impoverished college student with barely enough money for food. There isn't any hope some sort of fuel injector cleaner could get them spraying normally again, right? Does ethanol based gas have anything to do with gumming them up? Is this the normal cost to get a couple injectors replaced?
$1360 for injectors? thats crazy, as hey now said find a good tech around your area.. but is the car sputtering or stalling of any sort, if not just drive it until you can find a decent tech around, but 1360, their out of their mind, but as for fuel injector cleaner, your just paying 2 dollars and some change for water... lol for all you know someone could of pissed in the bottle
Old 03-17-2007, 04:48 PM
SLOW

lol @ $1360.

You can get 6 used working injectors on here for like $60. A first timer with no experience could probably replace them in a couple hours. Someone who's done that sort of work before could do it in 30 minutes...