4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Bigger rear brakes (using hardware from front)

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2001, 10:33 AM

I don't think I've seen this topic discussed (but I'm getting older, so I may have just forgotten)...

I'm outside taking a smoke break today and I'm looking at my Max's brakes. The rear discs and calipers are so much smaller than the front!! I'm no car mechanic nor a race car driver, but in Gran Turismo, in order to decrease understeer during braking, you increase rear braking power.

So:
1. Do the front brakes do the most work simply because there is more friction surface than on the rear? Or is it just the physics of the car slowing down that forces more work on the front brakes?

1. Is it mechanically possible to, say, buy a set of front rotors & calipers and mount them on the rear?

2. If so, does anyone think this is a good idea?

Thanks for any input...
Justin
Old 09-02-2001, 11:39 AM

Originally posted by justmax
... I'm no car mechanic nor a race car driver, but in Gran Turismo, in order to decrease understeer during braking, you increase rear braking power. ...
Gran Turismo what? Is that some kind of computer simulation? If so, are they simulating front wheel drive or rear wheel drive cars?

1. Do the front brakes do the most work simply because there is more friction surface than on the rear? Or is it just the physics of the car slowing down that forces more work on the front brakes?
Physics. The front brakes do more work than the rear brakes because the front end is heavier ...
- more than half the weight of a 4Gen Maxima is on the front wheels when the car is at rest
- when the brakes are applied there is a weight transfer from the rear to the front

1. Is it mechanically possible to, say, buy a set of front rotors & calipers and mount them on the rear?
I don't know.

2. If so, does anyone think this is a good idea?