4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Brakes need work - Is this a reasonable quote?

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2009, 02:10 PM

Brakes need work - Is this a reasonable quote?

So,
I got my brakes inspected at a garrage the other day on my 96 Maxima. They noted the following:

Front brakes - Need new pads and rotors. Pads currently at 5%. Quote: $380
Rear brakes - Need new rotors and callipers (probably pads too? But it wasn't mentioned on the sheet). Rear caliper is currently seized. Quote: $810
I don't remember what the breakdown was for parts/labor.

That's essentially $1200 to fix the brakes on my car. My car is 13 years old, has 150,000 miles on it and it's rusting. I'm debating whether it's even worth fixing for that much. Is that quote reasonable? If not, what should it really cost?

I've never done brakes before. Our family garage is cold right now (I live in Minnesota) and has very little space or lighting in it, so I usually do my car work outside. When I have to jack up my car it's dangerous though because our driveway is on a slope. I don't absolutely need to use my car in the next month or two, so I'm contemplating waiting until it gets nicer out and then doing the work on it outside.

If any of you have some recommendations on specific parts, what they'd cost, and where to buy them, I'm all ears. I don't need to use my car much, so I'm not looking to throw a lot of money into it. If I didn't want to do the work myself, are there mechanics that I could pay for labor but would install the parts that I bought, instead of making it mandatory that I have to buy their parts?
Old 02-22-2009, 02:26 PM

I would tell the guy at the garage exactly where to put his estimate.