4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

What other gaskets needed for WP project???

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2009, 05:01 PM

What other gaskets needed for WP project???

I am not a pro mechanic, but can get around my engine bay. I have changed a couple of water pumps on various GM products and I am planning to change my water pump on my 98 Max and have been doing some research on the forum and I am having trouble finding a complete listing of ALL the gaskets and sealants required for the job. I am more than likely going to change the TC tensioner too.

I am trying to perform this with the write-up available on the forum already, but am on the remaining necessities. I have been looking at the Advance Auto Parts site: http://shop.advanceautoparts.com/web...ater%20pump___ and I was wondering what gaskets here are the necessary ones?

I looked at the parts in this write-up, but it seems to me I need more than the ones listed.
http://forums.maxima.org/4th-generat...ght=water+pump

If anyone can help, it would be much appreciated.

Oh yeah, from what I am reading, this project seems to have a lot .orgers

If anyone has anymore hints than the ones already posted in other threads, I am more than interested in hearing those as well.
Old 09-22-2009, 05:40 PM

I don't recall using any gaskets - just grey permatex around tensioner and wp covers.
I believe there is a gasket available for the tensioner itself , but I just put back
my old tensioner as is . Did this about 40k miles ago ( engine now at 326K) and have
no problems with it.
Old 09-22-2009, 06:34 PM

Originally Posted by 7jackmack
I don't recall using any gaskets - just grey permatex around tensioner and wp covers.
I believe there is a gasket available for the tensioner itself , but I just put back
my old tensioner as is . Did this about 40k miles ago ( engine now at 326K) and have
no problems with it.