4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Fix for pump leak?

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2011, 03:16 PM

Fix for pump leak?

hey guys, so i thought id ask u guys since im kinda new to the whole maxima scene... Well i got a maxima and was told that it only leaks oil and once i got it home, i left it sitting in the drive way for about a month and i noticed that it has been leaking anti-freeze coolant. I thought it was the plastic reservoir that leads to the radiator but after checking i found out that was not it so my next assumption was the radiator itself. After having it looked at thoroughly by a fmaily friend (mechanic) he told me that it was the water pump.

My question for u guys is if u know of any fixes that need to be done to stop this? Changing out the water pump isnt really in the cards since im not looking to spend an abundance on this car. I was advised to use "radiator stop leak" to possibly stop the leaking in the water pump but read on several various forums that said this will not work and could make things worse.

Sry for the long explanation but i figured the more info i try to give, would help to maybe help in finding a solution to my problem. Thnx
Old 06-20-2011, 03:39 PM

Not in to bandaids as they usually make things worse. I would just keep adding antifreeze until I could fix it.
Old 06-20-2011, 05:03 PM

ya, i know wat u mean but my dad thinks its not worth it to have half the engine compartment taken apart to replace the water pump.
Old 06-20-2011, 05:43 PM

Then have your dad but you a new car. OR do a search and read the stories and walk throughs of people who've done it. Its not hard you just have to be careful with the timing chain and tensioner.
Old 06-20-2011, 05:45 PM

The VQ30 is known for its longevity and should not be pushed aside cause someone did not replace the coolant when it was due
Old 06-20-2011, 06:19 PM