4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

97 SE just blew transmission- part out car?

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2011, 05:31 PM

97 SE just blew transmission- part out car?

I am far from a mechanic but try to surround myself with some.

My transmission on my 97 .. with only 79K miles has self destructed.. Its not a half shaft (which are both under a year old ) ...

It would appear this it too expensive to fix vs the value of the vehicle.. some body rust up in Vermont... Interior .. tan leather.. bose.. other wise all fine.

How can I decide if parting it out will be worth my time .. seeing that I am not near a big city with people in need of parts... I could not ship huge things like seats I would assume...

Radio.. speakers.. small parts.. would all be easily dealt with I think.. I can't stand the thought of trashing it to a junk yard for $175 / ton when the darn thing turns on and idles in park just as if it were new. AC works.. no leaks.. etc. If I can easily sell some things.. help some folks out.. and at least make more than what the junk yard will give me.. I would feel better about it.

I am looking for some advice on whether I have the stamina to part out and if being far from a market.. makes it a lose lose proposition.

The place its at right now wants me to haul it away and I just don't want to make a bad decision and throw too much money away..
Old 07-26-2011, 06:01 PM

Keep it, craigslist has trannys for cheap!
Old 07-26-2011, 06:07 PM

if you decide to part it out i have some things i would want
Old 07-26-2011, 06:10 PM

like the ac compressor, center vents on dash, ckps, corner light for driver side and bose HU
Old 07-26-2011, 06:49 PM

It would take more energy to part it out than the replace the tranny. Pick one up for $300 and have friends help.
Old 07-26-2011, 07:09 PM