4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

1999 Max - fuel smell in cabin

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2013, 08:20 AM

1999 Max - fuel smell in cabin

Hey, Maxima Noob here. My DD is a 99 Maxima, it's been in the family for a number of years now, and has since been passed onto me.
During the colder months of winter, there will be a fuel smell in the cabin when using the defroster.
This will last until the car has warmed up (or I shut the defroster off).
I'm familiar with fuel hoses expanding and contracting based on weather temps, and clamps becoming loose. However, I've looked in the engine bay with car running and haven't SEEN any visible fuel leaks.
Where in particular should I look? Does the plenum have to be removed to see/access any important fuel components?
Side note: I've worked on my own cars in the past, and have solid knowledge, but am not a certified mechanic :P
I also understand Nissan, as I own a Nissan sports car in addition to the Maxima.
I just want to tackle this fuel smell before something bad happens.
Recently changed front oxygen sensors, FYI.
Thanks! Hope I get warm welcomes, as I just joined this forum.
Old 12-03-2013, 10:02 AM

Possibly the EGR system. I think mine got a faint fuel smell in the cabin before I cleaned my EGR system(to the best of my ability). Is it extremely strong, or just barely noticeable?

Posted from Maxima.org App for Android
Old 12-03-2013, 10:06 AM

It's not overbearing, but it's def annoying and not 100% so I'd like it detected and fixed ASAP.

Thanks for the reply.

Car is 100% stock by the way.
Old 12-03-2013, 10:50 AM

How exactly do you "clean the EGR system"?

I've been clicking around this forum, sorry if this is posted elsewhere.

I might try a new gas cap, as I never hear a hissss when I unscrew the cap, and it's also never been changed (14 yrs old)
Old 12-03-2013, 11:24 AM