4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

engine revving but cars not going

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2014, 12:31 PM

engine revving but cars not going

i've noticed since i had my alternator replaced along with the belt that i have lost a considerable amount of power, i went and had them tension it twice (this is before i knew the only person that should touch my car is me or a trusted mechanic/friend) it has a good amount of pep if you catch it in the right gear at the right time (automatic) but as you continue to lay the pedal down it keeps revving but the car doesnt respond the way it should according to the rpms. you can almost feel it catching or pulsing power like it wants to go but something is giving. now let me know where i sound dumb, most the labor ive done my self has been body and suspension so im still learning i appreciate any help.

especially if you floor it, revs really high and accelerates at a moderate speed. (obviously not all 250hp)

Last edited by johnjohnalmand; 01-06-2014 at 12:33 PM.
Old 01-06-2014, 12:37 PM

Sounds like slippage. Torque converter?
Old 01-06-2014, 03:03 PM

Originally Posted by Quickywd01
Sounds like slippage. Torque converter?
Does sound like a transmission issue. Probably just coincidental it's happening the same time your altenator was replaced. Im sure if the altenator was no good it would stop maintaining the battery causing you to have to boost it but not sure it would cause your power loss on acceleration.
Old 01-07-2014, 06:41 AM

Originally Posted by ac max 92
Does sound like a transmission issue. Probably just coincidental it's happening the same time your altenator was replaced. Im sure if the altenator was no good it would stop maintaining the battery causing you to have to boost it but not sure it would cause your power loss on acceleration.