4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Where to start with my starting issues.

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2021, 04:23 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Where to start with my starting issues.

First of all, my car is a 97 GLE automatic with just over 111000 miles on it, bone stock VQ30de. I was aware it had starting issues when it was purchased (bad knock and oxygen sensors) but now it won't start at all. I get power when I turn the key (radio, windows, interior lights etc) but the engine will not crank. I will hear a click like it's trying to engage the starter but nothing happens, it does this in neutral as well. Tried jumping it and got smoke from the front right side, it smelled electrical. I'm new to this car and I'm not sure where to start, suggestions for what to check first would be greatly appreciated.

Edit: the tried and true technique of whacking the starter has no effect.

Last edited by Akichanwillow; 04-06-2021 at 05:26 PM.
Old 04-06-2021, 04:41 PM
Administrator

Hit your starter with a long pipe a few times. I bet your car will start. Start with that and report back.
Old 04-09-2021, 03:09 PM

Originally Posted by Akichanwillow
First of all, my car is a 97 GLE automatic with just over 111000 miles on it, bone stock VQ30de. I was aware it had starting issues when it was purchased (bad knock and oxygen sensors) but now it won't start at all. I get power when I turn the key (radio, windows, interior lights etc) but the engine will not crank. I will hear a click like it's trying to engage the starter but nothing happens, it does this in neutral as well. Tried jumping it and got smoke from the front right side, it smelled electrical. I'm new to this car and I'm not sure where to start, suggestions for what to check first would be greatly appreciated.

Edit: the tried and true technique of whacking the starter has no effect.