4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Help: once a while car won't start

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2002, 09:27 PM

Help: once a while car won't start

Once a while car would not start. There was no crackle sound that occurs from a dead battery. In the last 8 months this happened 3 times. Everytime this occurs I would check the hood then try again. Then it would start normally. What could be the problem? and should I stress it?
Old 05-06-2002, 10:02 PM

I'm no mechanic, but same thing happened to me - I'd bet on bad starter; one of the renowned achilles heels of the 4th gen max - got one from autozone - a bit expensive, but has done well and way cheaper than dealer pary.
Old 05-06-2002, 10:54 PM
Donating Maxima.org Member

Could be the starter...

Could also be the Park/Neutral switch...
Old 05-13-2002, 07:10 PM

Originally posted by MadMax95
Could be the starter...

Could also be the Park/Neutral switch...
This is gonna sound odd but it's too much coincidence for me. my car started doing this around march. but in order to get it to start i would have to move the shifter up while in the park position. i got used to just pushing up the shifter every time i went to start the car and it always worked i took it as an unakedfor "kill-switch" cuz no one could turn on my car except for me. at this same time my tranny started to shift erratically until finally about 15 days ago it went!!!! so i got a new transmission put in and i haven't had to do what i explained previously again. i hope none of you guys trannys go but this just seemed like toooo much of a coincidence for me. it starts doing it, the tranny starts to act up, then it goes, so i change it, and there goes the problem.--i'm no mechanic but i think the shifter has something to do with the tranny!! meanwhile i'll try to get this onto unsolved mysteries
Old 05-13-2002, 08:42 PM