4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

KYB/AGX GC Install comments - long

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2002, 08:29 PM

KYB/AGX GC Install comments - long

I write these comments for the folks who are scared to pick up a wrench.

Two weekends ago I installed KYG/AGX and Ground controls on my car. This was the first time I have ever done suspension work. While I had a friend help, I did most of the work myself. Due to plain unfamiliarity and rain it basicaly took 14 hours over two days(don't flame, it was my first time). Basically I used the Haynes manual and many valuable comments and write ups from this site. It is not hard - If I could do it any of you guys could. Next time around, I'm sure I could do it in less than 5 hours.

Anyway as a newbie here is what I had trouble with:
-Harbour Freight red spring compressor - I wasted a lot of time figuring how to get all for sides on the spring.

-Front Struts - very hard to pull out without coming close to damaging the CV boots - any suggestion so when you pull the assembly out it doesn't rest on the boot? (I didn't damage mine, but came close.

-Rear shock assembly - in order to get the piston nut off - use vice grips (IF I knew this beforehand I would have saved several hours)

-Sliding rear GC threaded sleeve over black plastic sleeve: Here's the trick and I'm not sure how to describe this - use grease, slide the threaded assembly as far over the black sleeve as you can. Then take a 10-25 pound weight lifting plate (from a gym), put it on top of the threaded sleeve and have someone stand on top of it...I know this sounds weird but it works. If you can't get it all the way down, cut off any excess black sleeve and the weight of the car will push it the rest of the way down.

The ride is a bit harsh - but not as bad as people are saying. No more of that ridiculous floaty feel when you hit bumps at high speeds.