4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Just installed new 4th gen frankencar intake!

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2002, 07:32 PM
boo
Donating Maxima.org Member

Just installed new 4th gen frankencar intake!

It was a piece of cake to install and I’m not very experienced with engine maintenance! When I first started the car and revved the engine I didn’t here anything so I became a little skeptical. But all it took was WOT in 1st and 2nd to clear my mind! This intake sounds awesome. It’s exactly what I was looking for: quiet when on regular throttle and a sweet burble on full throttle. I would definitely recommend it!

Of course my wife (Steph) had to drive it. She is the lucky one. As soon as she reaches the first light along comes a ~2000 Grand Prix GTP. I can never get any one to race but as soon as I let my wife drive there they are! Anyway, he had a passenger and I was the passenger in the Max. My wife jumps at the turn of the light but not full throttle to see if he would race.

She gets about 10ft from the light and the GTP guns it. Steph lays the pedal down and the Frankencar intake howls out with a crisp rumble through redline. I kept looking back waiting for him to slowly pull us in. But every time Steph shifted gears we would lose a couple of feet and then begin to pull away. She had to shut down at 80mph (traffic) and we were about 1 ½ car lengths ahead. Steph leaned over to me and says "Well, aren't you happy? You almost bought one of those!!" We pulled up next to him to ask if he had any mods but I think he was too embarrassed because he wouldn’t look our way. He just got whooped by a girl!

Boo
Old 06-24-2002, 07:34 PM
All YOUR grammer belong to me

A stock GTP won't beat a 4th Gen 5-speed. Congrats on the intakes, I remember the days of my HAI
Old 06-24-2002, 07:48 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member