5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Bugs.

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2000, 11:01 PM

I just bought my 2001 SE 2 weeks ago, and I have some concerns I'd like to mention. 1. It sometimes takes the car 2-3 seconds to turn over. 2. The gear box does not like to gear down (weather cold, not worn in yet). Im new with this car, so some of these issues may have come up before. Please let me know.

Old 12-24-2000, 05:24 AM

My 2K SE automatic turns over on the first try, within 1 second, EACH time.. (except this one time when I bought Shell gas)

My recommendation (probably the quickest fix), is to try a different brand of gas... it solved my problem...

Originally posted by Greek to the Max
I just bought my 2001 SE 2 weeks ago, and I have some concerns I'd like to mention. 1. It sometimes takes the car 2-3 seconds to turn over. 2. The gear box does not like to gear down (weather cold, not worn in yet). Im new with this car, so some of these issues may have come up before. Please let me know.

Old 12-24-2000, 06:16 AM

Turning Over

Greek to the Max,

Are you having trouble starting cold or after the car is fully warmed up and you attempt to restart your Maxima a short time later. My Maxima would always start cold but if you tried to restart after 10 minutes to 1 hour later it would crank a bit before starting. My Maxima now has 6,000 miles and I no longer notice this problem. If your having the same starting problem as I described your motor might need to break in a bit. When your engine is warm everything is expanded inside your motor. So all moving parts are tighter when hot then when your motor is cold. This would account for starting problems in a warm engine.
Old 12-24-2000, 06:33 AM