5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Loud Clunking from Rear!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2002, 10:58 AM

Loud Clunking from Rear!!

Hi guys. My 2002 is pure stock . I'm a weekend driver. I have noticed this only when the Max has been sitting in the garage for a few days: After releasing the brakes (6spd), I begin to reverse out, and as she rolls back, I hear this NASTY clunking type of sound. Any ideas? It comes from the rear, and it sounds like I'm either driving over something, or something is snapping/breaking. After that loud sound, the car sounds perfect. This happend on Sat. and I took the car out on Sun. but there was no sound. That's why I think it does this after a few days. (Handbrake/regular brake sticking maybe???) Thanks for your help!

BTW, killed a V6 Mustang the other day, first time I really got on the car, and boy its swwwweeeeettttt!!!

Regards,

ShysMax
Old 12-23-2002, 11:03 AM

Re: Loud Clunking from Rear!!

Originally posted by shysmax
Hi guys. My 2002 is pure stock . I'm a weekend driver. I have noticed this only when the Max has been sitting in the garage for a few days: After releasing the brakes (6spd), I begin to reverse out, and as she rolls back, I hear this NASTY clunking type of sound. Any ideas? It comes from the rear, and it sounds like I'm either driving over something, or something is snapping/breaking. After that loud sound, the car sounds perfect. This happend on Sat. and I took the car out on Sun. but there was no sound. That's why I think it does this after a few days. (Handbrake/regular brake sticking maybe???) Thanks for your help!

BTW, killed a V6 Mustang the other day, first time I really got on the car, and boy its swwwweeeeettttt!!!

Regards,

ShysMax