5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Hi all newbie here

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2003, 09:13 PM

Hi all newbie here

How are you all doing. I just recently (Monday) picked up a 2001 Maxima, and, bloody love the thing. I was in a Mazda MX6 previous, and, it is like night and day.

I have been reading some posts, and, you guys have some kick *** looking cars.

I do intend to mod the car, but, I am going to start out with the cosmetics first, although, I did put a K&N air filter in it, I will eventually go with a CAI.

While I will search for most of my questions, I do have one, if I may. The first thing I want to do is switch out the guage cluster with a set of white glow gauges, but, cannot find a 2k1 set, will these 2k2 Glow Gauges fit in my 2k1?.

Thanks in advance.

-J
Old 01-04-2003, 09:26 PM

Re: Hi all newbie here

Originally posted by Jakester
While I will search for most of my questions, I do have one, if I may. The first thing I want to do is switch out the guage cluster with a set of white glow gauges, but, cannot find a 2k1 set, will these 2k2 Glow Gauges fit in my 2k1?.
Hi, and welcome!

No, the 2K2+ gauges do not fit with the 2K-2K1 Maximas. The main thing is that starting with 2K2, Nissan added an LCD readout screen to the tach gauge. The 2K-2K1 didn't have this LCD screen. Sorry.

Which 2001 do you have? If you have the GXE or the GLE, you can always get the SE gauge which has a titanium face and a cool night face too. It's not reverse indiglo, but it looks good for what it is.

Peace.
Old 01-04-2003, 09:29 PM

Cheers KennyLau, I have a GXE, and I did search and figured those gauges would not fit!!, so, I will go with the SE cluster.
Old 01-04-2003, 10:45 PM

How are you all doing. I just recently (Monday) picked up a 2001 Maxima, and, bloody love the thing. I was in a Mazda MX6 previous, and, it is like night and day.