5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

New Maxima owner, need help with acronyms.

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2003, 10:18 AM

New Maxima owner, need help with acronyms.

Hey all, I am new to the Maxima world but not to the car world. I am a domestic owner myself but the wife has a 2000 Maxima. Of course I have the speed bug and my 355 does not compare to her 3 liter and just isnt going to cut it. I have been reading but all these acronyms are confusing me. I am used to STB, SFC, LCA, PHR, and any other one that applies to my car but not hers. It is an auto and is 100% stock. She is not much into modifications but she loves driving my car so once they are done I am sure she wouldn't mind so much.

The first thing I am looking to do is a new cold air intake but am looking for the best one. Then I am eyeballing a tranny cooler and some better pads and rotors since I drive a little harder then she does. Stereo is no big deal at this time since it is good enough for her. What are some other things that I can do? Are there better suspension pieces, I know on my car it is a unibody design so the rear doesnt tie to the front so I need some subframe connectors, do these cars have that problem? I know that searching is a wonderful thing but I have no idea what to even start searching for.

Lastly do you guys have a tech page? Like what type of FP do these cars run at? Is there an easy way to pull the codes if a SES (service engine soon) light pops on? Thanks.
Old 09-25-2003, 10:21 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Welcome. I'd try the FAQ's first, thats where I started. There is a lot of good info there.
Old 09-25-2003, 10:56 AM

Originally Posted by kcowden
Welcome. I'd try the FAQ's first, thats where I started. There is a lot of good info there.
stone cole trippin boo
Old 09-25-2003, 11:05 AM