5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Is maxspeed worth it without the gr-2?

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2003, 07:23 PM

Is maxspeed worth it without the gr-2?

I've spent a week searching all the posts i can, and have decided maxspeed/gr-2 is the stup i'm going to run on my baby. However, there is an issue. I am a very poor college student who has a very expensive habit (car modding).

I can afford the $100 for the maxspeeds and 40-50 for install. That's doable on my budget, just eat more ramen.

But the gr-2s for a full set run above 300 not including install. I can't do both right now.

My question is: is it worth it run the maxspeeds on stock struts, will it make enough of a difference to justify or do the real benefits only come from the combo and i should wait. And yes i understand the benefits of having the install done at once, but like i said i am a poor college kid. Please only knowledgeable answers, thanks.
Old 11-15-2003, 07:38 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

IMO.................NO!
Old 11-15-2003, 07:42 PM

BTW, if you do the gr2s with the maxspeeds the install cost will be the same.

You can get Maxspeeds and gr2s for about 390ish shipped!
Old 11-15-2003, 08:19 PM

Originally Posted by Maximam
BTW, if you do the gr2s with the maxspeeds the install cost will be the same.

You can get Maxspeeds and gr2s for about 390ish shipped!

i know about the cheap deals, but 450 with install is a ton harder to swallow than 150 with install...

But i'm assuming two votes for no on getting the springs before the struts?
Old 11-15-2003, 08:49 PM

why dont you just get the springs for right now it usually takes about 50-60 thousand miles to wear out the struts which is about 3-4 years depending on how you drive
Old 11-15-2003, 08:54 PM

Originally Posted by Ironlord
i know about the cheap deals, but 450 with install is a ton harder to swallow than 150 with install...