5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Maxima not fit for Germany?

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2004, 05:30 AM

Maxima not fit for Germany?

So my Maxima just got out here to Germany. Here are the problems I am encountering, and I thought I might get some good answers here. I am a total newbie and I have a Maxima 2001 SE 5spd.

First:
My windshield wipers are absolutely aweful at speeds over 100mph. I think the wind coming off the windshield pushes the blade off the windshield, thus it does a very poor job at wiping. I think I just need to increase the pressure against the windshield, but am not sure how to go about doing this.

Second:
Cruise control doesn't work at speeds over 94 mph. This sucks. I'd have to be in the far right lane at all times at this speed.

Lastly:
The car (wind noise) is excessively loud at speeds over 110 or 120mph. I can't even talk to people in the back seat without having to raise my voice. It sounds like there is wind whistling in the rear doors.

What are your suggestions? I think I could get out the duct tape and fix some of these things, but I was wondering if there were any nice clean solutions.....
Old 02-12-2004, 05:34 AM

A Bimmer or Benz sounds nice right about now
just kidding... hopefully someone can help... did you check the hardware of your wipers? Check all seals? Can't help you with the cruise control, I and countless others have experience with that.
Old 02-12-2004, 05:43 AM

Originally Posted by six-o
So my Maxima just got out here to Germany. Here are the problems I am encountering, and I thought I might get some good answers here. I am a total newbie and I have a Maxima 2001 SE 5spd.

First: