5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Whats up with Nissan trannies?

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2004, 05:05 PM

Whats up with Nissan trannies?

Lately it seems like every other thread is about a 5th gen tranny going bad, particularly a 2k2. This really worries me seeing as I'm a broke college student and I just hit 28k so not sure if its still covered under warranty? Nothing is wrong right now but I'm just afraid now every time I drive the car that the tranny will go etc. The people that had trannies go bad, did you beat on them, do burnouts etc or regular take it easy style driving with the occasional go fast etc? I don't slam the car into gear etc. but do usually take off fast from a light etc, but usually wait for the car to shift into second before I give it some extra power...Just wondering why all of a sudden so many stories everywhere about the trannies etc.
Old 03-25-2004, 05:47 PM

Mine's fine. I'm not worried.
Old 03-25-2004, 06:10 PM

Originally Posted by maximaracer28
Lately it seems like every other thread is about a 5th gen tranny going bad, particularly a 2k2. This really worries me seeing as I'm a broke college student and I just hit 28k so not sure if its still covered under warranty? Nothing is wrong right now but I'm just afraid now every time I drive the car that the tranny will go etc. The people that had trannies go bad, did you beat on them, do burnouts etc or regular take it easy style driving with the occasional go fast etc? I don't slam the car into gear etc. but do usually take off fast from a light etc, but usually wait for the car to shift into second before I give it some extra power...Just wondering why all of a sudden so many stories everywhere about the trannies etc.