5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Bounced off the rev limiter ,damage?

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2004, 11:15 AM

Bounced off the rev limiter ,damage?

Today when i was driving on the highway coming to the off ramp, i was doing about 65 mph i was in 3rd(automatic) i accidently hit the lever into 2nd. And the revs flew to the red line and bounced off a few times. Car did a hard lurch like i was engine braking, quickly threw it back into 3rd. Car seems normal just when i got out after driving it and shut her off it was making those strange pinging noises like when you drive a car hard then get out, you hear those weird noises. Do you guys think i did damage to the tranny?
Old 10-07-2004, 11:39 AM
Stev02

I'm no professional, but if this is the first time, you should be fine. I have a manual and I went into second gear by accident one time and I just hit the redline and then I slammed it into neutral, then into the gear I should have went to (we all do it once). The VQ's are bricks!!

Old 10-07-2004, 11:41 AM
detailerdaveb@gmail.com

I accidently downshifted into 2nd going from 6th to 4th and bounced my rev limiter, no problems afterwards.
Old 10-07-2004, 11:44 AM

i blew two of my coil packs when i had a miss-shift.not saying thats what made it blow but my ses light came on almost instantly after that happend. i would not recommend doing it everyday thats for sure but when i was younger i used to do burnouts with my vtec powered accord with the needle bouncing off the rev limiter all the time...and she ran like a champ
Old 10-07-2004, 11:47 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

I was talking to someone who did 3rd-2nd at redline by accident and blew his motor... I wouldn't say the VQ's a "brick"...
Old 10-07-2004, 11:47 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Originally Posted by MAX0830