5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

rear sway bar questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2005, 10:22 PM

rear sway bar questions

Does the SE come with a rear strut or sway bar already and what is the difference between the sway and sturt bars? I didn't think it did but someone told me they do? So would there be a rear sway bar and strut bar along with a front strut bar and sway bar? Would it be ok to have a front strut bar without having anything else? I am a newb when it comes to suspenstion issues and this forum doesn't have a suspension forum for me to browse. thanks.
Old 01-01-2005, 10:28 PM
Bigger than Jesus

I have the Stillen RSB/FSTB on my car. A strut bar connects either the 2 front or 2 rear struts together making the car have tighter handling. You could have just an FSTB but will notice a bigger difference in handling if you get an RSB. I went with the Stillen RSB b/c it was much easier for me to install than the Progress RSB.
Old 01-01-2005, 11:03 PM

where does the RSB install at and how hard is it to do? Is there such a thing as a frong or rear sway bar or are they talking about the same thing?
Old 01-02-2005, 02:04 AM

The RSB installs underneath the rear axle and connects to rear beam. It's not that hard to do if you have a jack and stands. Yes, the Maxima has a front sway bar already, and front and rear sway bars are not the same. One is in the front, one is in the rear.
Old 01-02-2005, 05:33 AM

Strut braces do just that - they brace te tops of the strut towers. The Max benefits particularly from a front strut brace, the improvement from a rear brace is much less noticeable (my 2k se came with stiffening brackets on the rear strut towers from the factory - a cross brace would only add a little stiffness). A decent front brace can be had for under $50.