5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

2001 Maxima Wheel/wheel bearing problems

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2005, 01:43 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

2001 Maxima Wheel/wheel bearing problems

Hi all, newbie here. Great site BTW.

My wife's daily driver is a 2001 Maxima we bought used 1 year ago from Carmax. It's a pearl white with slate grey leather automatic SE with the 17" wheel option.

Love the car to death, but we do have a problem.

When we first bought it, it had a pair of crappy Kumho tires on the front that were really loud. One of them did this whump whump whump noise as you drove...I figured the belts had shifted in it when it was made or something.

Anyway, we replaced this summer with Falken 512's all around and the noise went away. These are very good tires IMO.

However, recently new issues have come up. First we noticed is on tight turns the whump whump whump has come back, like something is rubbing the fenderwell. I don't think there is any tire contact, we did go with the OEM size. Now there is this little bump you can feel as you drive down the road, as if the tire has a big rock stuck in it. It doesn't do it constantly but most often just at steady cruise.

I pulled both front wheels and inspected CV joint boots, rotors and brake pads and all looks good. Tires look good too. The only thing that concerned me is what I thought was excessive play in the wheelbearings. On a rear drive car if you grab the top and bottom of the front wheel and move back and forth, it shouldn't move. These had play in them. Is that normal for FWD? For Maxima?

What is the most likely culprit? Wheel bearings? CV joint? How expensive are the parts if I go with OEM Nissan stuff?