5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Replacing fog light bulbs...DYI?

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2005, 10:43 AM

Replacing fog light bulbs...DYI?

I need to replace one of my fog lights, but I want to know how easy it is first. In my old car it was a PITA cause the opening was so small. I would have to take off my front wheels to get decent clearance.

BTW-What size bulb is the fog? What are you guys using as replacement bulbs. I'd like it to be similar to the HID's.

Thanks in advance.

I tried the search function but I guess I'm not allowed to because I'm not a donating member.
Old 04-11-2005, 10:51 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

yeah, its a DIY. check the how tos section, its in there, its very easy. i believe the bulb is an H3.
Old 04-11-2005, 10:54 AM
Seoul Man

The job is easy enough to do. I'm a relative noob, and I found it to be a simple job as long as you take your time. The job is even easier if you have ramps or a jack and jack stands, but I was able to do it without raising the car, because I was a monkey in a past life.

The bulb size is H3. H3 bulbs are easy to find online and at any local auto parts store, but I'm having trouble finding an affordable fog light bulb that is a good color match for my HID headlights. Housecor used PIAA Super Plasmas for his fogs, and they look pretty good, but they're quite expensive.
Old 04-11-2005, 10:56 AM
Seoul Man

Here's Housecor's write up:

http://www.innerbean.com/housecor/piaa_fogs.html
Old 04-11-2005, 11:01 AM

I used super plasma GTX. I don't think they make plain old super plasma anymore. They are a great match. Not perfect but they are white rather than that dull yellow.

IMPORTANT, if you go through the trouble of getting your fogs to match the HID's spend the 7 bucks and buy some Polarg M-4 clearance bulbs. Then all your lights in the headlights and fog lights will match. You can get the Polargs on ebay cheap.