5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

spanked by old-school Z...

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2001, 10:30 AM
MaximusFelinis

Hey folks. This is my first time posting at his site and have to say, you have a great site going here.

Anyway, I don't consider myself a racer though I do enjoy stop light dragging once in a while. A couple weeks ago, I edged out a late BMW M3 and smiled all the way homee. I also victimized a Type R, BMW 740il and plenty of mustangs. Yesterday however, was a different story: I've always been a huge fan of the Z's especially the old Datsuns. I was a bit surprised when a beautiful 280Z came pulled alongside me on the boulevard. It was gorgeous: had some nice AR Torque Twister-looking 15" rims. Huge brakes and nice paint-job. So while we were sitting at the light, I hollered to him "nice car, wanna race?" and the gentleman humbly nodded. I revved the baby up and as soon as the green light flashed i was off and definitely had the best launch i ever head, there was no wheelspin and the car just hauled ***. We left the line evenly although i think i had a bit of an edge over him. So guess how surprised I was when I looked over and saw the old Datsun AT LEAST 3 car lengths in front of me by 3rd gear. I figured that the farther we'd go, i'd eventually catch up to him, but not a chance. By the time i was hitting 70 mph his car was doing close to triple digits or even faster and was about 60 feet in front of me. This one on a riverside boulevard and by the time I hit a hundred, his car was barely visible...=( I'd guess his car would easily run a low 11 second 1/4 mile.