5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Power valve actuator

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2005, 06:05 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Power valve actuator

This is on my wife's 02 auto Maxima. When starting from a standing stop and particularly with the passenger side window down, I had been hearing a little rattle I guess when she starts off. It's gotten worse in recent months and it now seems to do it a little longer and sometimes when accelerating while already moving. The other night, I decided to see if it would do it without load just so I could see where it was coming from. I'm looking at the FSM now and it looks like the noise would come from around the power valve actuator (looking at EC-24). Every time she stabbed the gas in park, the rod would pull back and I'd hear the rattle. I then decided to pull the rod myself and the rattle stayed for as long as I had it pulled. I'm new to the whole VIAS issue and did some reading about this last week but I'm wondering if this noise sounds like something related to the VIAS or might it be something else? The car is under an extended warranty until 100k so I'm planning on bringing it to the dealer tomorrow to let them deal with it but I'd like to know prior to going what I'm talking about and have a little more knowledge.

Any ideas/thoughts/suggestions? TIA
Old 12-15-2005, 04:29 PM

Well, I brought the car to the dealer figuring I'd play dumb and try to get whatever I can done under warranty. There were three issues... 1) the motor mounts feel worn and I think need to be replaced. 2) there is the rattling I talk about above which I think is associated with the VIAS somehow. 3) there is a check engine for O2 sensor and I bought the sensors figuring I'd do it myself. Since the car was at the dealer and would be on a lift (or at least access to a lift) I figured I'd pay the labor to do it.