5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Calling all suspension guru's

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2006, 09:14 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Calling all suspension guru's

My car sits like this:

I want it to sit and ride like this:

Here's the problem: Any sacrafice of ride quality must be minimal. I don't want to feel like I'm in a race car or riding on the the ground. I don't understand how BMW, Audi and Mercedes have such a great stock suspension and aggressive stance and the ufcking japanese cars look like they are lifted like monster trucks. Some one suggested I upgrade my 18 inch wheels to 19 to reduce the gap. I said no. I just want a great riding car that is smooth but does not look like the front end is on jacks.

I think the back of my max is just about right. Is it possible to only lower the front and leave the rear stock? What are the implications of this?
I have zero knowledge of suspension. Coilovers, struts, etc is all chinese to me. What is the ultimate suspension setup that gives an aggressive lowered look w/o sacraficing ride quality? How can I get the Euro suspension look?
If I can get the above pictured look and maintain a smooth ride I'd be a happy max owner...
Old 12-23-2006, 10:19 PM
Bigger than Jesus

Question: How can I get the Euro suspension look?

Answer: Buy a BMW or Audi.

/thread

But seriously, I have learned this lesson the expensive way. You can not have that low of a stance and a butter smooth ride with this car.
Old 12-24-2006, 05:08 AM
Driving is the next best thing

They have totally different suspension design, so they don't need very stiff springs to resist body roll and fight short suspension travel. They also got much stiffer chassis which allows suspension do a better job absorbing road imperfection and spreading the rest of the energy through the whole body.