5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

I Need Help About a Blown Engine, Newbie here

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2007, 04:44 PM
Bad *** Newb

I Need Help About a Blown Engine, Newbie here

Sorry if this is wrong spot and what not.

But I am in serious need and I know how smart all of you guys are
I will be your slave for a day if you can help :P

Ok, I have a 2002 Maxi SE, about 77K miles, 6 speed.
I bought it about 9 months ago with 70K. I have used mobil 1 syn and mobil 1 filters and have changed it twice. The current miles on this change is about 2,500. It has ran perfect, quiet and smooth all the way to redline. It has never been in accident and engine appeared to have been taken care of well.

Here's the bad news: I drove to school like normal (which is a hardcore 6 miles, city traffic with ***** out driving on part). No problem as usual (man I love nissan engines!). Everything seems normal. I get out of class and start her up, still normal. Get goin on the major road and notice a loss of torque, but engine is still purring. This is where I become retarded. I keep driving since it's not that far and figure I can make it back. There was no lights being shown and I know she's touchy when it comes to the sensors, so I think I'll be fine. I get up to speed after a couple miles and the torque drops out, engine overheats and stalls in a matter of seconds and it's basically done. I have it towed to my (not so local) repair guys. They said it only had 2.5 Quarts of oil and runs, but has a bad lower end knock in it, so they basically said I'm fooked and need a new engine. I'll admit, I don't always check the oil often, but cmon! Not very many miles, with no leaks of any kind and she runs of out oil. I'm a little fumed.