5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

TSB's? How to deal with Service Dept.

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2007, 11:16 AM

TSB's? How to deal with Service Dept.

I'm a noob here and have done a lot of reading. The first thing I found interesting were "Recalls/TSB's"

I understand that if there is an official "Recall" the dealer should fix the problem at no cost to the owner of the vehicle.

The thing that I am unclear about is some of these TSB's I've read up on regarding my 2002 Maxima SE 6spd.

I have a few issues that have been identified

- wind noise rear door windows.
- Bose left speakers work/don't work (I noticed that sometimes when I brake hard the left speakers stop working, then start to work again when I accelerate.
- Engine Cover Logo (mine is not looking too good)
- some engine sensor was mentioned (can't remember the exact one)
- front suspension component mentioned as a precautionary replacement

just to quickly name a few

These "TSB's" are these issues that the dealer will fix for me at no cost? Or is this just a way for them to send info to the dealers on what are the most common issues with certain models and how to fix it?

I no longer have any warranty on my car since its a 2002 and its almost 2008.

Also, I live in Canada, are the TSB's universal to the US and Canada in most cases?

I realize that there are some US specific such as the odometer in the US racking up mileage as if its km...anyways...

Any and all replies are greatly appreciated...I love this site, so much info and so many beautiful Maximas out there...
Old 12-04-2007, 11:32 AM
detailerdaveb@gmail.com

TSB's are generally covered if you are still under the Nissan warranty (3yr 36K or 4yr 50K powertrain), or if you have an extended warranty. If you are out of warranty then you'll have to fork out the cash to get the TSB's fixed. Only recalls are fixed for free.
Old 12-04-2007, 11:40 AM