5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Replaced Fuel Filter, Car Won't Start!

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2009, 08:12 PM

Replaced Fuel Filter, Car Won't Start!

Hey guys,

I followed both these great how to guides to change my fuel filter

http://www.shiftice.com/fuel_filter.html (for 2002-2003)

and

http://forums.maxima.org/5th-generat...-thread-5.html (for 2000-2001)

I am pretty sure I did everything correctly, it did NOT take 15 minutes , instead it took 4 HOURS for me because I am a noob ... I started at 6pm and ended at 10pm. The instructions were clear but it was kinda of obvious what you have to do when you take the thing out. Also, pulling the hose out was a l31+c|-| so I ripped it in half with a plier (The hose that was connected to the old fuel filter).

Alright let's get to the point. I can't start my car. I tried turning it on 10+ times but it would not start. I let the gas cap lose and tried it again and it still would not start. So I unhooked my battery ( big mistake ) and hooked it back on ... and now all the car does it go " click " when I try to turn it on. I am like 100% sure I did everything right and plugged everything back to place. Not sure why car wouldn't start. Any ideas?

These are the two videos that I was talking about.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qHXIJSYeEko

and

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LWquh5Q303I (weird *** noise?)

Last edited by Kevin319; 04-12-2009 at 09:41 AM.
Old 04-10-2009, 08:18 PM

Just a guess.

Did you remove the fuse and forgot to put it back in?
Old 04-10-2009, 08:26 PM

Nope I put the fuse back on. I even took it out and placed it back again. Didn't work.
Old 04-10-2009, 08:29 PM

pump the gas pedal a few times and then crank it again

btw 00-01 fuel filters are under the back seat too or are they some place else?
Old 04-10-2009, 08:30 PM

Yeah I tried pumping the gas 3-4x then cranked it but nothing happened.